
2014 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.

     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

JANUARY
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Representation of Children as 

Guardian Ad Litem 2011
January 7, 2014

Video Replay 

(Abingdon)

Video Replay 

(Alexandria)

Video Replay 

(Charlottesville)

Video Replay 

(Norfolk)

Video Replay 

(Richmond)

Video Replay 

(Roanoke)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Representation of Children as 

Guardian Ad Litem 2011
January 8, 2014

Video Replay 

(Tysons Corner)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training January 23-24, 2014
Video in Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training January 23-24, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile



2014 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.

     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

FEBRUARY

Course Name
Date Format Sponsor/Contact

CLE Information
CLE Applies To:

44th Annual Criminal Law Seminar February 7, 2014 Live (Charlottesville)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

7.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

44th Annual Criminal Law Seminar February 14, 2014 Live (Williamsburg)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

7.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training February 20-21, 2014
Video in Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training February 20-21, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile



2014 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.

     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Introduction to Virginia's Sentencing 

Guidelines-The Basics
February 26, 2014 Live (Richmond)

Virginia Sentencing

Commission

www.vcsc.virginia.gov

(804) 225-4398

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Full-day Conference on Juvenile Justice February 27, 2014 Live (Charlottesville)

Institute of Law, 

Psychiatry and Public 

Policy at University of 

Virginia

contact Edward Strickler 

at (434) 924-5126 or 

ELS2E@virginia.edu

6.0 total Juvenile

Introduction to Virginia's Sentencing 

Guidelines-The Basics
February 28, 2014 Live (Fairfax)

Virginia Sentencing

Commission

www.vcsc.virginia.gov

(804) 225-4398

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2014 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.

     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

MARCH
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Representation of Children as 

Guardian Ad Litem 2011
March 4, 2014

Video Replay 

(Abingdon)

Video Replay 

(Alexandria)

Video Replay 

(Charlottesville)

Video Replay 

(Norfolk)

Video Replay 

(Richmond)

Video Replay 

(Roanoke)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Representation of Children as 

Guardian Ad Litem 2011
March 5, 2014

Video Replay 

(Tysons Corner)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

12th Annual Advanced Seminar for 

Guardians Ad Litem for Children-2012
March 11, 2014

Video Replay 

(Abingdon)

Video Replay 

(Alexandria)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

44th Annual Criminal Law Seminar March 12, 2014

Video Replay 

(Warrenton)
Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

7.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2014 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.

     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

44th Annual Criminal Law Seminar March 13, 2014

Video Replay 

(Alexandria)

Video Replay 

(Charlottesville)

Video Replay 

(Danville)

Video Replay 

(Hampton)

Video Replay 

(Norfolk)

Video Replay 

(Richmond)

Video Replay 

(Roanoke)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

7.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

44th Annual Criminal Law Seminar March 19, 2014

Video Replay (Dulles)

Video Replay 

(Lynchburg)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

7.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training March 20-21, 2014
Video in Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile



2014 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.

     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

APRIL
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training March 20-21, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

Introduction to Virginia's Sentencing 

Guidelines-The Basics
March 26, 2014 Live (Portsmouth)

Virginia Sentencing

Commission

www.vcsc.virginia.gov

(804) 225-4398

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

44th Annual Criminal Law Seminar March 27, 2014

Video Replay 

(Winchester)
Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

7.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Introduction to Virginia's Sentencing 

Guidelines-The Basics
Aril 2, 2014 Live (Wytheville)

Virginia Sentencing

Commission

www.vcsc.virginia.gov

(804) 225-4398

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training April 17-18, 2014
Video in Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile



2014 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.

     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training April 10-11, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

MAY 
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

10th Annual Indigent Criminal Defense 

Advanced Skills for the Experienced 

Practitioner

May 2, 2014

Live (Richmond) 

Webcast 

(Weyers Cave)

Webcast (Wytheville)

Justices of the Supreme 

Court of Virginia, 

the Members of the Chief 

Justice's Indigent

 Defense Training 

Initiative, and the Virginia 

State Bar

7.0 total
Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training May 29-30, 2014
Video in Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training May 29-30, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

http://www.indigentdefense.virginia.gov/PDF documents/IndigentDefenseSeminar2014.pdf
http://www.indigentdefense.virginia.gov/PDF documents/IndigentDefenseSeminar2014.pdf
http://www.indigentdefense.virginia.gov/PDF documents/IndigentDefenseSeminar2014.pdf


2014 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.

     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

JUNE
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Representation of Children as 

Guardian Ad Litem 2011
June 10, 2014

Video Replay 

(Abingdon)

Video Replay 

(Alexandria)

Video Replay 

(Charlottesville)

Video Replay 

(Norfolk)

Video Replay 

(Richmond)

Video Replay 

(Roanoke)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Representation of Children as 

Guardian Ad Litem 2011
June 11, 2014

Video Replay 

(Tysons Corner)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training June 19-20, 2014
Video in Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training June 19-20, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile



2014 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.

     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

JULY
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training July 17-18, 2014
Video in Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training July 17-18, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

August
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training August 21-24, 2014
Video in Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training August 21-24, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile



2014 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.

     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

SEPTEMBER
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

12th Annual Advanced Seminar for 

Guardians Ad Litem for Children-2012
September 16, 2014

Video Replay 

(Abingdon)

Video Replay 

(Alexandria)

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training September 25-26, 2014
Video in Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training September 25-26, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

OCTOBER
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training October 23-24, 2014
Video in Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile



2014 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.

     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training October 23-24, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

NOVEMBER
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training November 20-21, 2014
Video in Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training November 20-21, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile

DECEMBER
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Initial Indigent Defense Certification Training December 18-19, 2014
Video in Roanoke, 

VA

Virginia Indigent Defense 

Commission                        

Lori Hoover: (804) 662-

7249 Ext 110

10 total                           

(6 criminal and 4 

juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor                

Felony                         

Juvenile


