
2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

JANUARY
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Juvenile Justice Reform Youth 

Assessment Screenings Instrument 

Part 2

January 7, 2016 Live Fairfax, VA Supreme Court of Virginia 1.5 total Juvenile

Representation of Children as 

Guardian ad Litem 2014
January 13, 2016

Video Replay in 

Alexandria, VA

Charlottesville, VA

Norfolk, VA

Richmond, VA

Roanoke, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Representation of Children as 

Guardian ad Litem 2014
January 28, 2016

Video Replay in 

Abingdon, VA

Tysons Corner, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
January 21-22, 2016

Video Replay in 

Richmond, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
January 21-22, 2016

Video Replay in 

Salem, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

FEBRUARY
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Juvenile Justice Reform 

DAI and LOS
February 4, 2016 Live in Fairfax, VA Supreme Court of Virginia 1.5total Juvenile

46th Annual Criminal Law Seminar 

2016
February 5, 2016

Live in

Williamsburg, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.5 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

46th Annual Criminal Law Seminar 

2016
February 12, 2016

Live in

Charlottesville, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.5 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

"Immigration Consequences of 

Crimes in VA"
February 18, 2016

Live in 

Abingdon, VA
Abingdon Bar Association 3.0 total

Misdemeanor

Felony

"Insanity Defense" February 18, 2016
Live in 

Petersburg, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

1.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
February 18-19, 2016

Video Replay in 

Richmond, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
February 18-19, 2016

Video Replay in 

Roanoke, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

MARCH
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Free Speech, Fear and Facebook: 

Evolving Boundary Between the 

First Amendment and "True Threats"

 in the 21st Century

March 1, 2016
Live Webcast and 

Telephone

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total
Misdemeanor 

Felony

Juvenile Justice Reform: 

Trauma Informed Care
March 3, 2016 Live in Fairfax, VA Supreme Court of Virginia 1.5total Juvenile

Free Speech, Fear and Facebook: 

Evolving Boundary Between the 

First Amendment and "True Threats"

 in the 21st Century

March 8, 2016

Webcast and 

Telephone 

with Live Q & A

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total
Misdemeanor 

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Representation of Children as 

Guardian ad Litem 2014
March 9, 2016

Video Replay in 

Abingdon, VA

Alexandria, VA

Charlottesville, VA

Norfolk, VA

Richmond, VA

Roanoke, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Representing SIJS Clients in Virginia

J &DR Court and U. S. Immigration

Courts 

March 10, 2016 Webcast Virginia State Bar 1.5 Total Juvenile

Representation of Children as 

Guardian ad Litem 2014
March 17, 2016

Video Replay in 

Tysons Corner, VA
Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
March 17-18, 2016

Video Replay in 

Richmond, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
March 17-18, 2016

Video Replay in 

Salem, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Representation of Children as 

Guardian ad Litem 2014
March 24, 2016

Video Replay in 

Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Late Day Lecture: Mental Health and 

Ethics
March 25, 2016

Live in Richmond, 

VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

2.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

46th Annual Criminal Law Seminar 

2016
March 29, 2016

Video Replay in

Alexandria, VA

Charlottesville, VA

Danville, VA

Norfolk, VA

Richmond, VA

Roanoke, VA

Tysons Corner, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.5 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

46th Annual Criminal Law Seminar 

2016
March 30, 2016

Video Replay in 

Hampton, VA

Winchester, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.5 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

46th Annual Criminal Law Seminar 

2016
March 31, 2016

Video Replay in 

Lynchburg, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.5 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

APRIL
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Initial Capital Certification Training April 11-12, 2016
Video Replay in

 Salem, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           Capital

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
April 14-15, 2016

Video Replay

 in Salem, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
April 14-15, 2016

Video Replay in 

Richmond, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

46th Annual Criminal Law Seminar 

2016
April 26, 2016

Video Replay in 

Abingdon, VA

Fredericksburg, VA

Harrisonburg, VA

Norfolk, VA

Richmond, VA

Roanoke, VA

Tysons Corner, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.5 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

MAY
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

12th Annual Indigent Criminal 

Defense Seminar Advanced 

Skills for the Experienced

Practitioner

May 5, 2016

Live in

 Richmond, VA

(Webcast

 Weyers Cave

& Wytheville, VA)

Virginia State Bar

1111 East Main Street, Suite 

700, Richmond,

 23219

FAX: (804) 775-0501

EMAIL:

indigentdefenseseminar@vsb.

org

6.5 total (1 hour 

Juvenile credit)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

21st Annual Robert E. Shepherd Jr. 

Juvenile Law and Education 

Conference

May 13, 2016
Live in

Richmond, VA

Children's Law Center;

Mid Atlantic Juvenile

Defender Center;

University of Richmond;

National Center for

Family Law; Center for

Special Education

Advocacy; Children's

Justice Center; Just

children; Young Lawyers

Division VBA

7.0 total Juvenile



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
May 12-13, 2016

Video Replay in 

Richmond, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Understanding, Assessing and 

Treating Aggressive and Antisocial

Youth, with expert Paul Frick PhD

May 17, 2016
Live in 

Charlottesville, VA

Institute of Law, Psychiatry 

and Public Policy at University 

of Virginia

5.0 total Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
May 19-20, 2016

Video Replay in 

Roanoke, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

JUNE
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Representation of Children as 

Guardian ad Litem 2014
June 7, 2016

Video Repaly in 

Abingdon, VA

Alexandria, VA

Charlottesville, VA

Norfolk, VA

Richmond, VA

Roanoke, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Representation of Children as 

Guardian ad Litem 2014
June 15, 2016

Video Replay in 

Tysons Corner, VA Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total Juvenile

Representing the Juvenile Criminal

Defendant: Navigating the Juvenile 

Justice System

June 15, 2016
Live and Telephone 

in Charlottesville, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total Juvenile



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
June 23-24, 2016

Video Replay in 

Richmond, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
June 23-24, 2016

Video Replay in 

Roanoke, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

OBJECTION! Making and Responding

to Objections
June 24, 2016

Live and Telephone 

in Charlottesville, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

3.0 total

Misdemeanor

Felony

JULY
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Representing the Juvenile Criminal

Defendant: Navigating the Juvenile 

Justice System

July 6, 2016
Webcast and 

Telephone

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total Juvenile

Sentencing Guidelines Knowledge

& Skills Evaluation
July 6, 2016

Video Replay in 

Portsmouth,

VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

5.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Introduction to Sentencing Guidelines July 7, 2016
Live in Chesapeake, 

VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Immigration Consequences of 

Criminal Dispositions

July 8, 2016
Blue Ridge 

Communty College

August and Harrisonburg-

Rockingham County Bar

Association

3.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Introduction to Sentencing Guidelines July 12, 2016 Live in Fairfax, VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Sentencing Guidelines Knowledge

& Skills Evaluation
July 13, 2016

Video Replay in 

Fairfax, VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

5.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Criminalizing Pregnancy July 15, 2016
Live in Richmond, 

VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

1.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

OBJECTION! Making and Responding

to Objections
July 20, 2016

Live in 

Charlottesville, VA, 

Webcast and 

Telephone 

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

3.0 total

Misdemeanor

Felony

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
July 21-22, 2016

Video Replay in 

Richmond, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
July 21-22, 2016

Video Replay in 

Roanoke, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

2016 Indigent Defense Commission 

Appellate Conference
July 26, 2016 Live in Abingdon, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Search and Seizure in Virginia: 

Navigating the Thicket
July 28, 2016

Live in 

Charlottesville,

Webcast and 

Telephone

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Defending Driving while 

Suspended/Revoked Cases
July 29, 2016

Live in Richmond, 

VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

1.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

AUGUST

Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact

CLE Information

CLE Applies To:

Sexually Violent Predator Case 

Review
August 1, 2016

Live in 

Charlottesville, VA

Webcast and 

Telephone

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Introduction to Sentencing Guidelines August 4, 2016

Live in 

Henrico/Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Cross Examining Experts August 5, 2016
Live in Richmond, 

VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

1.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Advanced Indigent Defense Appellate 

Conference
August 9, 2016

Live in Richmond, 

VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

3.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Search and Seizure in Virginia: 

Navigating the Thicket
August 11, 2016 Webcast and 

Telephone

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Sentencing Guidelines Knowledge

& Skills Evaluation
August 11, 2016

Video Replay in 

Abingdon,

VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

5.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Initial Capital Certification Training August 11-12, 2016
Video Replay in 

Richmond, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           Capital

Initial Certification Training August 18-19, 2016
Video Replay in

 Richmond, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Initial Certification Training August 18-19, 2016
Video Replay in

Salem, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Tidewater Juvenile Conference August 19, 2016  Live in Norfolk, VA
Office of the Public Defender,

Norfolk, VA
4.0 total Juvenile

Trying Drug Cases in Virginia August 25, 2016

Live in 

Charlottesville, VA

Webcast and 

Telephone

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Criminal Practice in the General 

District Court
August 31, 2016

Live in 

Charlottesville, VA

Webcast and 

Telephone

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

SEPTEMBER
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

The Automobile Accident Case:

Taking Your Case to Trial
September 8, 2016

Live in 

Charlottesville, VA

Webcast and 

Telephone

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Immigration Consequences of 

Criminal Dispositions in Virginia
September 9, 2016 Live in Fairfax, VA

CAIR Coalition & VSBA

Young Lawyer's Conference

5.0 total (2 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony 

Juvenile

Computer Forensics for Lawyers September 12, 2016

Live in 

Charlottesville, VA

Webcast and 

Telephone

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total 
Misdemeanor

Felony

Criminal Practice in the General 

District Court
September 14, 2016

Live in 

Charlottesville, VA

Webcast and 

Telephone

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Virginia Beach Bar Association-JDR

Subcommittee Annual CLE
September 15, 2016 Live in Virginia 

Beach, VA

Virginia Beach Bar 

Association

Peggy Davis, Chief 

Administrative Assistant

757-385-8366

4.0 total
Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
September 15-16, 2016

Video Replay in 

Richmond, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
September 15-16, 2016

Video Replay in 

Salem, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

2016 Criminal Law Seminar September 21, 2016
Live in Springfield, 

VA

VTLA

Kelly Parrish

kparrish@vtla.com

804-343-1143 ext. 305

8.5 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Juvenile Detention Hearings September 23, 2016
Live in Richmond, 

VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

1.0 total Juvenile

Trying Drug Cases in Virginia September 23, 2016 Webcast and 

Telephone

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Representation of Children as 

Guardian ad Litem-2016
September 26, 2016 Live

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

4.0 total
Juvenile

Sentencing Guidelines Knowledge

& Skills Evaluation
September 27, 2016

Video Replay in 

Winchester,

VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

5.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

OCTOBER
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

DUI Defense in Virginia October 6, 2016
Live in 

Richmond, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Winning DUI Cases October 5, 2016 Live in Roanoke,  VA
Your DUI Pro

www.yourduipro.com
6.0 total

Misdemeanor

Felony

DUI Defense in Virginia October 7, 2016
Live in 

Fairfax, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Winning DUI Cases October 6, 2016
Live in Richmond,  

VA

Your DUI Pro

www.yourduipro.com
6.0 total

Misdemeanor

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Winning DUI Cases October 7, 2016
Live in Virginia 

Beach,  VA

Your DUI Pro

www.yourduipro.com
6.0 total

Misdemeanor

Felony

Sentencing Guidelines Knowledge

& Skills Evaluation
October 12, 2016

Video Replay in Big 

Stone Gap, VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

5.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Introduction to Sentencing Guidelines October 13, 2016 Live in Abingdon, VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Sentencing Guidelines Knowledge

& Skills Evaluation
October 14, 2016

Video Replay in 

Roanoke, VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

5.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Computer Forensics for Lawyers October 17, 2016 Webcast  

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

2.0 total 
Misdemeanor

Felony

Winning DUI Cases October 19, 2016
Live in Harrisonburg,  

VA

Your DUI Pro

www.yourduipro.com
6.0 total

Misdemeanor

Felony

Sentencing Guidelines Knowledge

& Skills Evaluation
October 20, 2016

Video Replay in 

Henrico/Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

5.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

The Fall 2016 Annual Meeting and 

CLE: Sharpening Lady Justice's 

Sword to Better Fight While 

Blindfolded

October 20-21, 2016
Live in Richmond, 

VA

VACDL

3126 W Cary Street

#615

Richmond, VA  23221

6.0 total (2.0 

Juvenile)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
October 20-21, 2016

Video in Richmond, 

VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
October 20-21, 2016

Video Replay in 

Salem, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Winning DUI Cases October 20, 2016
Live in 

Charlottesville,  VA

Your DUI Pro

www.yourduipro.com
6.0 total

Misdemeanor

Felony

Winning DUI Cases October 21, 2016
Live in Alexandria,  

VA

Your DUI Pro

www.yourduipro.com
6.0 total

Misdemeanor

Felony

DUI Defense in Virginia October 25, 2016

Video Replay in 

Abingdon, VA 

Alexandria, VA

Warrenton, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Sentencing Guidelines Knowledge

& Skills Evaluation
October 26, 2016

Video Replay in 

Danville, VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

5.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

DUI Defense in Virginia October 28, 2016

Video Replay in 

Fredericksburg, VA 

Norfolk, VA

Tysons Center, VA

Winchester, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

DUI Defense in Virginia October 31, 2016

Video Replay in 

Charlottesville, VA 

Danville, VA

Richmond, VA

Roanoke, VA

Virginia CLE

www.vacle.org

1-800-979-8253

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

NOVEMBER
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Juvenile Topic-TBD November 4, 2016
Live in Richmond, 

VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

1.0 total Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
November 17-18, 2016

Video Replay in 

Richmond, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
November 17-18, 2016

Video Replay in 

Salem, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile

24th Annual Capital Defense 

Workshop
November 17-18, 2016

Live in Richmond, 

VA

The Virginia Bar Association

804-644-0041

the vba@vba.org

www.vba.org

11 total

Misdemeanor

Felony

Capital Lead Counsel

Capital Trial Co-Counsel

DECEMBER
Course Name Date Format Sponsor/Contact CLE Information CLE Applies To:

Introduction to Sentencing Guidelines December 1, 2016 Live in Fairfax, VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony



2016 LIVE OR VIDEO REPLAY COURSES AVAILABLE (sorted by date)
Re-certification Reminders:

Misdemeanor and/or Felony re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Juvenile re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of CLE on criminal law PLUS 4 hours of CLE on representing juveniles in delinquency and/or CHINs matters

      (total of 10 hours of CLE) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

      Capital re-certification: minimum of 6 hours of specialized training in capital litigation PLUS 4 hours of training in the analysis and introduction 

 of forensic evidence (total of 10 hours of training) completed within the previous two years from the date of expiration.

     **CLE on representing juveniles can be used towards Misdemeanor/Felony re-certification.

     **Generally, Misdemeanor/Felony CLE do not apply towards Juvenile re-certification.
     **MCLE requirements are not related to attorney certification.  Any forms submitted to the Virginia State Bar will not be transmitted to the VIDC.

Introduction to Sentencing Guidelines December 13, 2016

Live in 

Henrico/Richmond, 

VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Introduction to Sentencing Guidelines December 13, 2016 Live in Roanoke, VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Introduction to Sentencing Guidelines December 15, 2016
Live in Portsmouth, 

VA

Virginia Criminal Sentencing

804-225-4398

vcsc.virginia.gov

6.0 total
Misdemeanor

Felony

Initial Indigent Defense Certification 

Training
December 15-16, 2016

Video Replay in 

Salem, VA

VIDC Training 

Department at 

training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

10 total                           

(6 Misdemeanor 

and Felony and 4 

Juvenile credits)

Misdemeanor

Felony

Juvenile


